About Driver License
Walkins temporarily limited to Martin County Residents.
The cut-off time for driver licenses at all Martin County locations is 4:15 pm.
The Martin County Tax Collector is an agent for the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Florida residents from any county may receive driver license and motor vehicle services at all Martin County Tax Collector locations. All driver license services will include an additional Florida statutory fee of $6.25.
For information on taking the class E Driving Skills Road Test after hours or on the weekends call the State approved provider in Martin County or a Treasure Coast Driving School at (772) 220-0510 or visit the Treasure Coast Driving School’s website for a list of state-approved private providers. View more info on Driver License exams.
*Proof of insurance and current registration is required for road tests. Minors must be accompanied by a licensed driver over 21 and need a parent to verify (verbally or by an affidavit) 50 hours of driving time.*
All locations, Stuart, Palm City, Hobe Sound, and Indiantown issue drivers licenses.
- Walk-in services for driver license services – renewals, replacements, reinstatements are available from 8:00am – 4:15pm.
- Written tests are available between 8:00am – 3:00pm.
Some Saturday and late afternoon appointments available through A Treasure Coast Driving School. You can reach them at (772) 220-0510 or visit the Treasure Coast Driving School’s website.
ROAD TEST INFORMATION
Road Tests are currently restricted to Martin County residents. This service is provided at the Stuart office ONLY. Please schedule an appointment by clicking on the button below. Please see below for the hours of operation and any blocked dates:
Hours of Operation:
Monday – Friday | 09:00 am – 2:00 pm
Ignition Interlock Program
Section 316.193, Florida Statutes, requires ignition interlock devices to be installed on the vehicles of certain persons convicted of DUI.
DL and Motor Vehicle Information for Military Service Members & Families
Important facts, question and answers for Military Services Members and families regarding driver license and motor vehicle transactions. Please visit the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle’s section on Military & Veterans Information.
Driver License Check
Allows customers to check their current driver license status, and if they are eligible or not to elect driver school. It will also provide the date of the last election and the number of times the customer has elected driver school in the past 10 years.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles has expanded its Internet services to allow. The new law provides a system that allows either parent of a minor, a guardian, or other responsible adult who signed a minor’s application for a driver license to have Internet access to inspect the minor’s driving history.
You will need to enter the driver license number, the last four digits of the minor’s social security number and the date of birth.
HAZMAT Information to Obtain HAZMAT Endorsement on CDL
CDLs with HAZMAT endorsements must be renewed every four years, and may be renewed up to one year before they expire.