Yes. Our offices are open Monday through Friday from 8:00AM to 4:30PM with the exception of holidays. Call our office if in question.
If you did not receive a renewal notice and would like to renew by mail, please submit the following items:
- Photocopy of current registration
- Proof of Florida insurance (photocopy of card, photocopy of binder, or insurance affidavit completed by vehicle owner)
- Check or Money Order for the proper fees made payable to Ruth Pietruszewski, Tax Collector. Please use blue or black ink to write checks. As the transfer of funds between banks becomes more electronic, the technology used for transmission best reads blue or black ink. When other colors are used there is a risk that the check can not be properly read and may be returned for non payment.
If you would like to renew in person at one of our branch offices, please bring the following items:
- Current registration, license plate number and vehicle identification number.
- Proof of Florida insurance (card, binder, or insurance affidavit completed by vehicle owner).
- Payment in the form of cash, check (please use blue or black ink to write checks), money order or credit/debit card (we accept MasterCard, American Express, and Discover over-the-counter). ATM machines are in all locations.
A renewal is sent to the registered owner in Martin County by the Florida Department of Public Safety. The renew or reminder as it is sometime called, is mailed as a courtesy prior to expiration. It is the registered owner’s responsibility that the registration is renewed on or before their birth date.
Section 320.06(1) (b), Florida Statutes, requires ten-year replacement of all license plates. The replacement is necessary because license plates must be fully reflectorized to ensure visibility for law enforcement purposes.
The delinquent registration fee shall be imposed on the 11th day of the month following the renewal month.
No. Motor vehicle emissions testing ended in the State of Florida.
The county that appears at the bottom of your license plate indicates the county in which the license plate was issued not the county of residence. You are not required to replace the plate; however, you may replace it with a Martin or Sunshine State license plate at the cost of a replacement license fee.
If you are applying for title in two names, each applicant, or their appointed power of attorney must be present to sign the application for Florida title.
In the State of Florida, a motor vehicle is required by law to be registered within 30 days of the owner either becoming employed, placing children in public school, or establishing residency.
Prices vary. Please call our office for a current price.
Insurance must be issued by a Florida agent with an insurance company license to do business in Florida. Florida law requires at least $10,000 Personal Injury Protection and $10,000 Personal Damage Liability be carried at all times.
Sales tax is not applicable on a gift; however, a bill of sale or an affidavit with the full description of the vehicle (including vehicle identification number, title number, make, model, year, etc.) should be completed by both parties to verify this information for the Department of Revenue.
Florida sales and use tax in the amount of 6% is collected on the purchase price, less trade in, on all vehicle transfers of ownership. A local discretionary surtax may also be charged based on residency.
There is not a statutory age limit on any persons for ownership of a motor vehicle. However, you may want to check with the insurance company before titling vehicle in the name of a minor. Applicant must be able to sign their name. Both picture and signature identification is required.
Yes. Each of the specialty license plates requires an annual use fee for the use of the special design plate. The purpose of specialty license plates is to raise funds for a particular cause. The use of a specialty license plate is a voluntary purchase.