Florida Title Transfer for Motor Vehicles
To transfer ownership of a motor vehicle or mobile home titled in Florida, you must bring the following to any Tax Collector’s office:
The Florida title properly and fully completed by both the buyer and seller. This includes the buyer and seller’s signature and printed name, purchase price and odometer reading (if applicable). If recording a lien, the lien holders name, address and date of lien are required.
Each applicant, or their appointed power of attorney, must be present to sign a new application for title. Bring personal identification in the form of a Driver’s License or Identification card issued by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, a passport or a U.S. military I.D. card. If you are the appointed power of attorney, the original or certified copy of the original signed appointment must be presented at time of application.
Applicant’s date of birth and Florida driver license number are recorded as part of the application. Sales tax is collected on the purchase price of a vehicle assigned to you. In addition, motor vehicle applicants are required to show:
- Proof of Florida property damage and PIP insurance to purchase a license plate.
- Company name and policy number is required.
If transferring a license plate or decal, submit the previous registration or license plate and decal number. For approximate fees, please call our office.
Vehicle Information Check
Check the status of your title on a vehicle for liens, mileage, and electronic status, etc. by clicking the following link and entering a Title Number or VIN Number: https://services.flhsmv.gov/MVCheckWeb
New Vehicle Information
If you have purchased a new vehicle from a Florida dealership, the dealer is required by law to process the application for title and registration. Click here for application for certificate of title.
Application for Duplicate Title
Only the registered owner or lienholder on record may apply for a duplicate Florida title, the fee is $78.25. Fast Title certificate is available at all Tax Collector offices for an additional fee of $7.50. Click here for a.
If there is an outstanding lien, only the lienholder can apply for a duplicate title. If the lien has been satisfied but still shows on our database, a lien satisfaction form must be submitted with the duplicate application.
Themay be submitted to any tax collector’s office. In order to process the transaction, the applicant must provide proof of identity (driver license, identification card, etc.) with their completed application. This includes proof of identity for any individual signing as an authorized agent for a company/business, when applicable. This condition does not apply to a Florida licensed motor vehicle, mobile home or recreational dealer, a Florida licensed motor vehicle auction, a licensed insurance company, a lienholder, a Florida vessel dealer or their authorized agent.
If you have recently moved, proof of your new address must be submitted at the time of application. Acceptable proof is shown on the back of the application form.
If your vehicle is titled in another state, you must apply for the duplicate title through the motor vehicle division of that state. To receive an application for duplicate Florida title, please call our office.
Surviving Spouse and Heirs Assistant Worksheet
How may we help a surviving spouse – This worksheet will walk you through the steps for transferring title of a vehicle involving a deceased owner.
Electronic Titles (E-Titles)
The electronic title process (E-Title) was implemented on August 15, 2007. If the lien on your vehicle is electronically maintained, you may request that a paper title be printed at any time, at a charge of $2.50 through the DMV website, click “Have DHSMV Print My Title” link.
If you request a paper title immediately, the Tax Collector’s office offers same day title printing for $10.00. Instead of waiting for Tallahassee to process and mail your title, you can leave our office with a title. Fast titles are obtainable at all Tax Collector offices. For more information, please call our office.
If your tag/decal has been lost or stolen, contact your local law enforcement agency to report it prior to completing an application for a replacement. After, submit it to the Tax Collector.
Low Speed Vehicles
In the state of Florida, low speed vehicles (LSV) must be registered, titled and insured with personal injury protection (PIP) and property damage liability (PDL) insurance. LSV is a vehicle with a top speed greater than 20 MPH, but not greater than 25 MPH. Any person operating an LSV must have a valid driver license. LSVs may only be operated on streets where the posted speed limit is 35 MPH or less.
View more information on safety requirements as well as instructions on how to register and title LSVs by clicking below.
Out of State Title Transfer
To register a vehicle previously titled out-of-state, please bring the following documents to the Tax Collector’s office.
- Out-of-state title certificate in your name or assigned to you. If recording a lien, the lienholder’s name, address and date of lien are required.
If your vehicle is titled in your name but is financed, and the title is being held by the lienholder, submit complete lienholder information including account number, lienholder name and mailing address and your current registration. If your out-of-state registration is not current, contact your lienholder for a photocopy of the front and back of the vehicle title to submit.
- Each person whose name appears on the title, or their appointed power of attorney, must be present to sign a new application for title. Bring personal identification in the form of a Driver’s License or Identification card issued by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, a passport or a U.S. military I.D. card. If you are the appointed power of attorney, the original or certified copy of the original signed appointment must be presented at time of application.
- Applicant’s date of birth and Florida driver license number are recorded as part of the application.
- The vehicle identification number on your vehicle, as well as the odometer reading (if applicable) must be verified on a
. VIN (vehicle identification number) verification is not required on the following:
- New Motor Vehicle
- Mobile Home
- Travel Trailers, and trailers under 2,000 lbs.
- All used out of state titled trailers over 2,000 lbs. must have VIN verification
- The Tax Collector’s office will perform this service at the time of registration or you may have one of the following
- A law enforcement officer from any state
- Florida notary
- DMV inspector
- A Florida licensed car dealer
- Out of State motor vehicle dealer – on their letterhead
- A Provost Marshal
- A commissioned officer in active military service, with the rank of 2nd Lieutenant or higher
- An LNC, “Legalman,” Chief Petty Officer or E-7
- This form is available in any Tax Collector’s office
- Sales tax is collected on the purchase price of a vehicle assigned to you on the out-of-state title. If the out of state title certificate was issued in your name, then sales tax equivalent to Florida’s tax and local sales taxes may be required if registering within six months of titling your vehicle. If you purchased the vehicle within the last six months, submit a bill of sale or invoice listing the vehicle purchase price, sales tax paid, and any trade-in allowance.
- If purchasing a license plate for a motor vehicle, proof of Florida property damage and PIP insurance must be submitted. Company name and policy number are required.
- If transferring a license plate, submit the previous registration or license plate and decal number.